Backyard Garden

This is the first year I have grown a garden. Living here in the south I was always asking my friends for okra, squash, etc… I decided to give it a try this year and not have to ask anyone for any fresh garden food. I have, over the years helped both of my grandparents with their gardens. I planted what I like to eat. Squash, okra, tomatoes, peppers, watermelon, lima beans, cucumbers, and carrots. I love butter beans and okra. I planted the Fordhook Lima beans as a bush plant instead of a pole climber. I did two rows of beans one being the baby lima. My squash is straight neck summer. I did 36 plants of squash. I love it so be it. Good thing because I had a storm take out about ten plants this spring. I have 18 tomatoes most being the early girl and better boy variety. I have six rows of okra. My rows are twenty feet long. My main garden is 20X20.  I have also panted carrots, peppers, watermelon, cucumbers, and cantaloupes.Around the end of May

I got a late start this year because of the weather.  I put most of my seed in and did my transplanting on the 15th of May.  I live in zone 7 on the planting guide map.  It is near the end of June now and I have had three “pickings” of my squash.  I have had a few ripe tomatoes which, is bragging right if you can get some to come in before the 4th of July.

Updated Current Pic

As you can see a lil’ over a month and things are looking green and lush.  When I tilled this ground it was just grass and the soil was dark and rich.  I didn’t do any ph testing I just planted and ran with it.  This will get bigger next year as I plan on adding other plants.  Potatoes and corn being my main ones.  This is 400 square feet and I have found it easy to work and keep the weeds out.  I plan to double that next year and move where I planted things around.  I used the fence between my neighbor to run the cucumbers up.  I also put a sweet 100 tomato and two bell peppers in front of them with a watermelon and cantaloupe in just because I could.  There is some kind of joy I get from doing this that is hard to explain and it is a kin to hunting or catching a big bass.  I hope my green thumb continues to produce and I thank my grandparents for those genes.

  Red ripe tomato from a couple of weeks ago.  Squash and banana peppers.

Today’s harvest of more squash and my first peppers.

July 1st harvest with more squash and Peppers

All posts are opinions meant to foster comment, reporting, teaching & study under the “fair use doctrine” in Sec. 107 of U.S. Code Title 17. No statement of fact is made or should be implied. Ads appearing on this blog are solely the product of the advertiser and do not necessarily reflect the opinions of drduhgylie’s blog or WordPress.com
One Response to “Backyard Garden”

  1. […] I will be keeping updates of the garden here.  Updates […]

Leave a Reply

